About Us

About Us

In 1958, our founder, Mr. Shyam Sunder, started Prabhat Prakashan, committed to publishing world’s best literature in Hindi and enriching the popular culture. We are the first Indian publisher to bring out Hindi translations of various Russian classics including the works of eminent authors like Chekhov, Tolstoy and Gorky. 

A privately owned company, the group and its imprints publish fiction and nonfiction, both original and reprints, by some of the foremost and most popular writers of our time. Our biggest publishing initiatives in Hindi include the works of Nobel Laureates and reputed authors like V. S. Naipaul, Rabindra Nath Tagore, Pearl S. Buck, Bankim Chandra and Sharat Chandra. Furthermore, the group had the privilege to bring out path-breaking works of former Indian Presidents, Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma and Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam. 

We felt honoured to publish the works of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former Deputy Prime Minister L. K. Advani, former Vice-President Bhairon Singh Shekhawat and former US President Bill Clinton. 

In 1995, we launched Sahitya Amrit, a literary monthly in Hindi with a mission to promote new writers and popularise the Rajbhasha across the country. The concept was mooted by the then President of India, Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, and the first copy of the magazine was presented to His Excellency in the presence of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the political supremo with marked literary talent. 

Ocean Books Pvt. Ltd.
What started as a venture for excellence in the Indian publishing scenario, has kept pace with fast-changing times and technologies in a bid to serve our readers even better and meet their requirements. The signature Ocean Books imprint was founded to broaden our publishing activities in English. Since then, we have focused on bringing out more quality works on health, yoga, personality development, defence, security and other relevant areas of national interest and our English titles are widely acclaimed across the country.